Member companies can connect with each other to securely share equipment data in Onix.
A connection allows one company to access another company’s equipment based on the permissions that the equipment owner grants. You can use connections to collaborate with customers, suppliers, and inspectors while controlling what they can view or edit.
Prerequisites
To create, edit, or remove company connections, you must have the Manage company connections privilege at full access.
Understand company connections
Access types
When you create a connection, choose one of the following access types.
| Access type | Description |
|---|---|
| Request access | Ask another member company for permission to access their equipment data. The other company must approve the request before the connection becomes active. |
| Share your data | Grant another member company access to your equipment data. The connection is created immediately with the access level that you select. |
Access levels
Access levels determine what a connected company can do with the equipment data that you share.
| Access level | Description |
|---|---|
| No access | The other company cannot access your equipment data |
| Supplier | Create equipment for your company and update the equipment that the connected company delivered. |
| Read-only | Includes Supplier permissions, plus view all equipment owned by your company. |
| Inspector | Includes Read-only permissions, plus inspect and update equipment according to the assigned control categories. |
Example
For example, Trust Inspections purchases equipment from Sunshine Builders. Trust Inspections chooses to grant Sunshine Builders the Supplier access.
As a result, Sunshine Builders can then create new equipment for Trust Inspections and update the equipment that it delivered. However, Sunshine Builders cannot view equipment that Trust Inspections owns if they were supplied by another company.
Create a company connection
To connect with another company:
- In Onix Work, go to Companies
- Select the company that you want to connect to
- Select Connect now
- Choose to share your data or request access to their data
- Choose an access level: Supplier, Read-only or Inspector
- Optional: Enter a comment to explain the purpose of the connection
- Optional: Choose whether to send an email notification to the other company
- Review the connection details and select Finish
If you selected Share your data, the connection is created immediately. If you selected Request access, the other company must approve your request before the connection becomes active.
View, edit or remove existing connections
To view an existing connection:
- In Onix Work, go to Companies.
- Select the connected company.
- Review the connection summary below the company profile.
- Select View connection details.
In the connection details, you can:
- Edit connection: Choose the updated access type and access level. Changes take effect immediately unless the new connection requires approval.
- Remove connection: Choose which access type to remove. After the connection is removed, the companies can no longer access each other’s shared data.
Review connection requests
The Connection requests panel shows requests that require action. You can review:
- Requests that your company has sent.
- Requests received from other member companies.
Depending on the request, you can:
- Approve requests that other companies send
- Reject requests that other companies send
- Cancel requests that you send to other companies
When you approve a request, the connection becomes active using the approved access level.







